Running Challenge: Across the Pond

Week 1 of 4

Today is the first day of fall. YAY! I don’t exactly know who gets to decide when Summer ends and Fall begins, but I am glad it is here. Three things I like about fall are: football, fitness(running), and festivals. Not necessarily in that order. Fall weather is awesome for running events, cause less people are prone to falling out from the heat, so that means all of the awesome running events happen in the Fall. This year, I’ll be missing a few staple runs, but, I will get to do some new runs in a different city.

After taking a short hiatus from running back in May, due to a health issue(allergies, lots of hives and itching), I started back up, and have been running again for about 2 months now. I am running 5 days a week, and have gotten up to 20 miles a week. The goal is to run the Kansas City Half Marathon, and get back into running events. I’ve only ran one half marathon, 2013 Aramco Houston Half Marathon, and I did ok (2:45) for not training properly or at all. (Don’t judge my time I have only been running since October 2011, and quite frankly, 16 year old me would probably die at all of this running that I am doing. So, hush!)

Since I started running again, I decided to switch from the Runkeeper app to the Nike+ app, and discovered an awesome feature: You can create running challenges and invite friends to participate. As such, in my attempt to train my body to run longer and farther, I’ve challenged myself to add a mile here and there every week until the run on October 19. This week’s challenge was accepted by my cousin, all the way from the motherland, the Philippines. So, not only do I get try to see if I can run 25 miles this week, which I have never done before, but I get to do it with friends and/or family who lives across the world. YAY!! If you want to join me in my quest, feel free to let me know and I will extend the challenge to you! YAY! So, wish me luck and I will TRY to update my weekly mileage to see if I meet each challenges and shave time off of my half marathon time!!

20130922-203806.jpg

Sidenote: I am also hoping to get Jaelan to start running with me, because of my fear of fat(TM) for her. She started running today. Another YAY!

2012 and 2013 Running Gallery:

(Click on thumbnail to view)

Leave a Reply

