In 350 words or Less

Today, I had an interesting conversation with a friend. She will probably hang me for this, but I felt strong enough about it to start a new column. Plus it’s my blog, I can write about what I want.

She asked me questions about the new healthcare insurance marketplace that will begin open enrollment next month. She was excited about how it might save her mother a ton of money, because she has a long list of pre-existing conditions. But then, she doubles back and says that she hates Obamacare. So, I’m like, what? She hates Obamacare because she hates Obama. And I’m like, ok, I understand, I do. Also, I am not here to support or defend Obamacare. My point is this type of disparity and inconsistency carries over to the policy makers. I know you are like, duh, what’s new? It’s the nature of politicians and of politics. But at the same time we keep complaining. All we do now a days is complain. What makes this country unique is its ability to adapt and innovate, I thought. I am not suggesting that people abandon their beliefs, I am just proposing that when you see something that has a potential, whether it be a new policy or a new iphone version, give it a chance. It is a freak of system to be able to say that you hate something that will directly benefit you. Obamacare is not the solution to anything, it might even make things worse. But we have beating the same drum for a long time when it comes to health care and its ridiculousness in cost, how bad can it be to see, not necessarily something new, but just something different? Our politicians and our political system needs to challenge and innovate itself when it comes to something like this, just like they challenge the system, the economy, and it’s citizens because the partisan stuff is for the birds and at the end of the day, Obamacare is law.

One thought on “In 350 words or Less

Leave a Reply

