Celery!? I hate Celery!

I have this thing against celery, that I have had since we first met. If there is one piece of green thing that I loathe besides bitter melon, it is celery. I was forced fed nasty celery as a grade school kid and I used to cry having to swallow it down, since I couldn’t leave the dinner table without finishing my gross celery crunchy mush.

I hate the way celery smells and how the smell lingers way after you have digested it. I can’t stand how it’s crunchy, hairy, stringy, and fibery after you take a bite. So naturally, this past week, I somehow, concocted two different dishes with a crap load of celery in it. Because it is only natural that as adults, we end up tolerating/liking the stuff that we hated as kids. Vegetables, green, leafy things, fall under this category (for me).

20131022-014916.jpg

So here are the two dishes that I “made”. I am culinary inadequate, (I burned ramen noodles and water as an adult), so please, do not take this as a recipe sharing post. Yes, it will include what I used and how I used what I used to make what I made, but please, do not take any cooking advice, lessons, or anything from here, EVER. My sole purpose and reason for this post is to impart the irony of how I ended up concocting two different dishes containing a crap load of celery, when I know, I hate celery as a whole. Plus, when you have hungry gremlins to feed, it doesn’t matter if you like it or not, so long as they are edible enough for the kiddos, all of whom by the way, love everything green, leafy, and celery, ugh, gross. But the dishes turned out WELL! ย ๐Ÿ™‚

PS: These are very,very fast dishes. Cause I don’t have time for that. I don’t give measurements cause I don’t know how big your family is, and season to your liking, not mine. So, these are very, very generic materials and instructions.

Dish 1: Asian Celery Pork (I made up my own name)

20131022-014819.jpg

Materials: Pork, oyster sauce, celery, onions. Combine in a pan, cook until celery is soft and pork is cooked. Add oyster sauce to your liking. I put A LOT. I ate mine on A LOT of RICE.

20131022-014526.jpg

20131022-014836.jpg

ย 

Dish 2: My Potato Soup(this was the first time I ever in my life cooked potato soup)

20131022-014906.jpg

Materials: a lot of potatoes, bacon, celery, onions, chives, chicken broth, season all, salt, pepper, half and half, shredded cheese.

20131022-014845.jpg

 

Directions: Cut everything up and throw in a big pot, season to your liking . Cook for like 3 minutes. Add a big can of chicken broth, bring to a boil. (You can add a thickening agent, if you like it super thick). Add some half and half, then simmer. Garnish with chives, bacon, and cheese. I ate mine with Hawaiian bread, but also great with French bread, or pan de sal.

So, there you have it, proof, that we can grow to like, things that we hate ๐Ÿ™‚

2 thoughts on “Celery!? I hate Celery!

Leave a Reply

