In 350 Words or Less

The NBA season is upon us and frankly, with the way the Texans season is going, I am trying not to get over excited. I vaguely kept up with the Rockets during the preseason, and saw glimpses of legitimacy. Superstitious Janis was a little nervous with the winning preseason record because the Rockets seem to do the opposite during the regular season. Nonetheless, because I don’t live in Houston anymore, I can watch virtually ALL of their games, home and away. BAM!

Here’s is my take after the first 3 games, (and I know it is WAY too early in the season):

LIKES: potential, rebounds, Howard, the Beard, and Casspi.

DISLIKES: turnovers and inability to destroy.

If this team stays healthy, they will contend, but already Patrick Beverly is out and Casspi was out against the Jazz. I am not a D12 fan, but if he continues to play like he is playing, stay healthy, be satisfied with a sub-20 scoring average, and don’t whine, I can learn to like. I see lots of rebounds in the future with D12 and Asik, but I think together on the floor, they are slow as heck. My favorite off season acquisition is Omri Casspi, i think he is a steal, if he stays healthy.

However, if we do not limit the turnovers, it ain’t gonna be pretty. For now, I am attributing the 20 average TOs in the first 3 games to the infancy of the season and learning to mesh. Finally, I saw age old Rockets habits in the last 30-40 seconds of the Mavs game, Mavs got within 5 points with 21 seconds left. If we do that in the playoff or against other contenders, we will lose. The Rockets are young and energetic, but they have got to learn how to destroy and conquer, early on.

Prediction: I don’t think we are going to win it all or the West. But I like where the team is headed, maybe next year. And on the oft chance that we do win it all, I will definitely be down for the parade πŸ™‚

Aspen and I, at her first Rockets game (2012). GO ROCKETS!! πŸ™‚

aspenrockets

*Image from houstonrockets.com*

One thought on “In 350 Words or Less

Leave a Reply

