A Floating Snack!

One of my favorite things to do is to share my favorite Filipino snacks and my otherwise weird taste buds with my family. So, I made a first attempt at making one of my favorite motherland snacks, palitaw, literally meaning, “float or rise up”, because the dough balls rise or float to the top of the pot when they are cooked.

It is essentially sweet sticky rice, very quick and easy, and really delicious. I only, “cook”, quick and easy things.

This is what it is supposed to look like:

However, because I am culinarily challenged, and because there is a lack of oriental grocers around here, my version looked more like this. I know, I know, you’re like, that is not that,  but it tasted just like it is supposed to, so YAY! (Don’t judge me! 🙂 )

20131106-134646.jpg

I could not find finer shredded coconut meat, which is why my coconut shreds look chunky, and I hate sesame seeds, so I opted not to include, which is what the brown stuff is on the first two photos.

So here is how I made it:

Materials:

20131106-134659.jpg

Glutenous rice flour, granulated sugar, shredded coconut meat, sesame seeds, water

Instructions:

20131106-134706.jpg

1. Mix 2 cups of the flour and 1 cup of water in a bowl and make a dough.

20131106-134715.jpg

2. Scoop out small balls of the dough and flatten.

20131106-134724.jpg

3. Boil lots of water and drop flattened pieces of dough. Once they float up, take them out and let them cool and dry a little.

4. Brown sesame seeds in a pan, then mix with sugar in a bowl.

20131106-134733.jpg

5. Take cooked dough, dip and cover with coconut shreds, then dip and cover with sugar mixture.

and TADA! PALITAW!!

Eat and Share!! PS: NO ONE else in the house would try it, except for Xavi, my brave little food taster, and she loved it! YAY!

8 thoughts on “A Floating Snack!

  1. i love palitaw! i made it for the first time a few months ago! i was surprised at how minimal the ingredients are. Does you oriental store sell frozen shredded young coconuts?

    • Exactly! If I would have known how, “easy”, it was to make, I would have tried a loooong time ago. There is one oriental store close to me, aptly named, “The Oriental Store”, lol, and it took one of the clerks and I like 15 minutes to find the chunky coconut that I had, so I had to settle for that. It was all they had, lol. Maybe next time, I’ll look for the young coconuts, instead. SIGH.

Leave a Reply

