Gobble! Gobble!

tg5

Well, Thanksgiving is only two days away and I am uber excited to be able to take a few days off, hang out with family, and EAT, EAT, EAT lots and lots of my favorite Thanksgiving food.

With that in mind, what is it that you are looking forward to eating the most? Maybe something that you don’t usually have throughout the year, because only your mom/grandmother is the only one who can make it, “right”.

Here are some of my favorite Thanksgiving dishes:

1. Ham/Turkey: For some strange reason, the only “right” time to eat a ham or a turkey for me is on Thanksgiving. I don’t know how to cook a turkey or ham, but Xavier does(he prefers ham), so we rarely, if ever eat ham/turkey during the year.

2. YAMS: Secret: I never had yams until I met Xavier, true story. And I have loved it since. We eat yams throughout the year, but there is nothing like the smell of yams cooking on Thanksgiving Day.

3. Pancit: Every Filipino needs an excuse to make pancit, and Thanksgiving is no different.

Here are some of my favorites from last year’s feast at home. We had our traditional Filipino-American feast šŸ™‚ When we lived in Houston, we would usually house hop on Thanksgiving until we couldn’t drive anymore. Gotta love having family close by.

Have a Safe and Happy Thanksgiving to Everyone!! šŸ™‚

6 thoughts on “Gobble! Gobble!

  1. Anonymous-You know who... says:

    My time-honored family recipt is Cranberry Salad. More like a dessert, or its own food group than what you are used to. Cranberries(duh) red grapes, real whipped cream, sugar and marshmallows all stirred until yummy and gooey! šŸ™‚ Happy Thanksgiving Gabriel Family!! šŸ™‚

  2. My favorites are turkey, yams with marshmallows, mashed potatoes, stuffing, pumpkin rum pie, and pumpkin cheese cake. I’m cooking again this year, but I’ll be adding yams, brussel sprouts, and green bean casserole to our spread. I had never cooked any of those in the past for the Thanksgiving meal. I also want to get mother & father to make some Filipino desserts like buko pandan (paborito ko!), fruit salad, biko, and leche flan!

Leave a Reply

