Week 12: Thanksgiving Day 2013

20131130-101558.jpg

I hope everyone had a wonderful and delicious Thanksgiving. As you can see, no Friday post this week, instead, a Thanksgiving 2013 πŸ™‚

This year we went down to Dallas to celebrate Thanksgiving with Xavier’s family. So, we were close to home. It was a much needed trip, especially for Xavier and the girls. It was great to see everyone.

I started off Thanksgiving like I did last year, with a turkey trot. This year was the Dallas YMCA Turkey Trot, I ran the 5K. Last year was the Houston Turkey Trot, and it was a 10K. It is a new tradition that I am hoping to do every year on Thanksgiving, no matter how cold. Hopefully, my girls will join me, once they get a little older. It’s a great way to start the day. The weather was awesome, once I started running. Before hand, the cold was a little nippy, it was about 28 degrees. Brr! As usual, there were a ton of people, the course was flat and fast, and I ran ok, definitely not one of my better runs. But, I did get to see a little bit of Dallas, since I had never been downtown before. Dallas is very pretty and view of downtown from the front of city hall, is gorgeous. My lack of photography skills does it no justice πŸ™‚

20131130-101408.jpg

20131130-101509.jpg

After the run, everyone pretty much got to relax and hang out, while the elder ladies worked the kitchen with their magic. I have so much to be thankful for this year, it is unbelievable. The kids played with their cousins the whole time, and Aspen was so happy to see everyone, especially, her Mimi, Poppa, and Uncle.

I ate about 3 plates of food, and I could barely move after. The food was sooo good! I feel so bad that we forgot to pack some left overs to bring home. After we ate, we took the kids and the the big kids to the movies. We saw, “The Hunger Games: Catching Fire”. It was great, but I think, no, I am positive, that there will be a part III πŸ™‚ After the movie, we ate some more and just enjoyed the rest of the day with family. Now it’s almost Christmas time! πŸ™‚

Here are a few photos. I am sure that everyone has seen enough food photos the past few days, so I opted for others, instead of food. Ok, maybe a couple of food photos πŸ™‚

20131130-101256.jpg

4 thoughts on “Week 12: Thanksgiving Day 2013

Leave a Reply

