The GOB!

20140408-001143.jpg

This past weekend was first weekend, so we decided to trek down to West Bottoms and check out the happenings there, since we had never been. West Bottoms is on the westish side of Kansas City, Missouri. It’s a suspect looking area due to the old, run down looking buildings that riddle the streets. However, on first weekends, it’s a pretty popular area for shoppers and retailers. The first weekend of every month is a big deal for West Bottoms because it’s the only time during the month that all (or most) of the antique and vintage shops are open. So, the shops put out for first weekends and food trucks come down and serve up yummy goodness.

20140408-001211.jpg

Anyway, as this is a food post, we wandered into Bella Patina. They had nice stuff. Old, but nice. I even found an 8oz stemmed cocktail glass for $2. More importantly, they had a restaurant on the third floor that is pretty dreamy because of the huge windows and third floor magic. But more importantly, they serve, The GOB, pictured at the top of the page. I was intrigued by the GOB. Everyone else had cookies and tacos, but I decided to try the GOB.

20140408-001235.jpg

The GOB is what I had imagined a French macaron would feel and taste like. Not the hard and tasteless, but pretty, incongruity that it is. Because you can’t be a pretty dessert and be dry and tasteless. You just can’t.

20140408-001226.jpg

The GOB is pretty much a giant version of a French macaron, except that it is soft and rich and chewy, and sweet and heavenly bad for my current diet, so I devoured it anyway. It is so good. It is everything that a French macaroon isn’t, for me anyways. This particular recipe (you know I asked) consists of two round, mounds of devil food with cream cheese filling in the middle. When you bite into it, it is soft and rich, not fluffy or airy. It’s just right. Perfect amount of chocolate to go with the cream cheese. The guy behind the counter mentioned something about it originating in Pennsylvania and that I won’t find it anywhere else. Which is probably a good thing for my diet.

20140408-001218.jpg

According to my research in wiki, there are different types of the GOB, better known as whoopie pie. Wiki says that Amish women would make these desserts and hide them in their farmer’s lunches, and when they are found, the farmers would yell, “whoopie!!”. BAM! Whoopie Pie. The GOB can be designated as a pie, a cookie, or a cake.

20140408-001155.jpg

What ever you want to call it, I need to learn how to make this thing and if you are ever at West Bottoms, go to Bella Patina, on the third floor is Vintage Eats and Sweets. Try the GOB, you will love it. If you already knew about the GOB, shame on you for not sharing your knowledge πŸ™‚

 

*Disclaimer: All opinions are my own. No one twisted my arm or gave me free GOB to write this post.*

 

 

 

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “The GOB!

  1. You’re in luck- my dad’s the guy behind the counter who made them! It’s an old family recipe, but I could probably twist his arm and get you at least enough of the ingredients and instructions to make close to what he served up. He makes mostly everything from scratch, and he’ll never tell me all of the ingredients. Lemme know if you want it πŸ™‚

  2. Paris says:

    A whoopie pie! Those are good. French macarons are good too; you probably just haven’t had a good one or maybe the ones you had were made wrong; they’re supposed to be really hard to make, hence my reluctance to try making them myself. In my experience, macarons are sickeningly sweet! They should have a meringue-cake-like consistency & not dry!
    Anyway, idk if it’s just the angle, but that whoopie pie looks huge! Would definitely like to try it when I visit.

    • If that is the case, then yes,the ones that I have had were not made right. Boo. And this was a huge pie, lol. I am definitely taking you to Bella Patina when you come to visit πŸ™‚ Also, have you made this before?

      • Paris says:

        I have not! But I don’t imagine it’d be too hard. Will try my hand at it & will see if Jonathan can get me almond flour at Whole Foods for macarons πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

