Game of Thrones Mixing: 1/10 and 2/10

got3

If you don’t already know, I love me some Game of Thrones. I think the long wait for Season 4 was cruel,(ok, not really), and that there are only 10 episodes in each season is unfair. I don’t watch too much television outside of GoT and sports, unless you count forced feedings of Dora the Explorer and Bubble Guppies, so when I do find a series that I like I get all into it.

To celebrate the return of Game of Thrones to our our lives, and to put my slight obsession with cocktails and drinks to good use, or to find a generally good excuse to try out new drinks while watching an awesome show, I have decided to try out one GoT inspired cocktails to go along with each new episode. Surprisingly, there is a plethora of GoT themed cocktails out there, but I am going to focus on one drink and try to somehow tie it in with that week’s episode, the operative word is try, cause there might be a time when I just want to make the drink just cause. So, if you follow along and try out some of these drinks, I hope you share and Enjoy 🙂

Since I am starting a little late, this week’s post will be for episodes 1 and 2.

Episode 1: The Lady Arya Cocktail

GOT4-2

I thought this was an appropriate cocktail for the first episode because Arya had the last and best kill of the episode. I mean seriously, an eye for an eye kind of deal that Arya gave that dude at the end of episode 1. You know you liked it.

The original recipe is from here.

Notes: I had to adjust this a little bit because it was too acidic, for me and my poor friends to had to try the first take. Also, I substituted Midori for the limonata cause I didn’t have it on hand. Overall, it was pretty good, a little tart, but it tasted good throughout and actually got better until the last sip 🙂

20140415-010304.jpg

1.5oz Bourbon

1oz Grenadine

0.75oz lemon juice

lemon peel for garnish

Splash of Midori

Instructions: Shake all materials except Midori. Strain into a coupe and then add a few splashes of Midori.

Episode 2: The Red Wedding Cocktail

GOTwedding22

This was an easy pick and tie in. First of all, I would never RSVP to any of the weddings on GoT, you might not make it out. Second, though not as red as the last wedding, it was the kill that any GoT fans were waiting for, I just didn’t expect it this early.

The original recipe is from here. The site did not provide any measurements, so I had to eye it with what I know: 75% liquor, but in this case, all ingredients contain alcohol so it was easy. This is what I came up with:

20140415-010312.jpg

1.5oz Bulleit Rye

0.5oz sweet vermouth

0.25oz Cherry Heering

a few dashes of Angostura bitters

Instructions: shake everything except the bitter, strain into a rocks glass. Add a few splashes of Angostura bitters.

20140416-120448.jpg

If you are like, no, that is so not right and such, please know that I am no professional nor do I know what I am doing. This is a HOBBY and I just like to try out drink recipes and enjoy, if it’s not too overly gross. One day I will be an awesome mixologist and will know why certain ingredients go together for what taste and what not, for now, I just attempt, sip, and repeat.

Cheers and ENJOY!! 🙂

 

*Game of Thrones images from google.com*

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Game of Thrones Mixing: 1/10 and 2/10

  1. I know you used to watch a lot of anime; Naruto is almost concluding, I heard.

    Even though I pretty much know everything that’s gonna happen, it’s still really surprising to watch everything actually happen on screen. I think they did a great job with the agonizing death & it was pretty much accurate. Just an FYI to your friend on Facebook: Theon doesn’t die just yet, at least not soon.. At least not that I remember.

    Anyway, I would’ve thought that you’d have a red drink for the wedding cocktail & the other for Arya, as she is bold & the last drink does not seem to be tart. Haha.

    • Those are some good points about the drinks. I went more for the names of the drinks than anything. I tried looking for an actual red drink for the red wedding, but didn’t find one that I liked. The last drink is not tart, but you are correct about the boldness. Very good observation and tie in. Will consult you for the next post, lol 🙂

Leave a Reply

