Game of Thrones Mixing: 3/10 and 4/10

got3

Episode 3: The Dragon Lady Cocktail

gotdragon

This episode was obviously a filler, so I couldn’t decide on which drink to try. There was the total boldness of Cersei and Jamie. There was also Daenarys doing her usual thing, freeing people, being a bad ass, and such. I decided to go with a Daenarys and not the mentally deranged brother/sister couple.

The original recipe is from here.

Of course, I had no idea where the heck to find dragon fruit, so my version is sans the dragon fruit, which is the whole point of the drink. Also, not sure if that is why the color of mine is way different. I also added just a tad bit more mango juice cause I love mango πŸ™‚ The drink is my favorite so far. It’s sweet with just the right amount of zip from the lime juice, just like Danny πŸ™‚

20140501-132926.jpg

2oz Vodka (I used Tito’s, cause everything is hotter in Texas and dragons spit fire)

1.25oz mango juice

0.5oz triple sec

0.5oz lime juice

Place all materials in a shaker with ice and shake, shake. Strain into a glass and enjoy.

Episode 4: The Wall Cocktail

white-walker

This one was an easy choice, I wanted to make something related to the wall and the wights because they have finally made an appearance this season. I thought the insight into the wight’s world was the best part so far, behind Joffrey’s death of course.

20140501-132918.jpg

The drink itself, I did not particularly like because of the mint bitters. I don’t really like mint based cocktails. The first try, I put about 3-4 dashes of mint bitters and that was way too much. I also tried it without, and it was more to my liking, but it didn’t have that umph! factor that the bitters provide. If you are like me, limit the mint bitters to 1 or 2 dashes and you should be good.

20140501-132853.jpg

Also, the recipe calls for Plymouth Gin, but I like my Ransom, so I went with that(sometimes I don’t follow instructions too well). This is probably why my color is on the greenish side, which is fine with me because it’s kind of my play on the wights/undead.

The original recipe is from here. I did not do the dry ice business.

20140501-134043.jpg

2oz gin (I used Ransom, which is probably why my color is different)

0.5oz lime juice

0.5oz simple syrup

1 egg white

1-2 dashes of mint bitters

club soda

Place all ingredients except the club soda into a shaker with ice and shake, shake, shake. Strain into a pre-chilled glass of your choice and top off with the club soda and enjoy!

 

*Game of Thrones images from google.com*

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Game of Thrones Mixing: 3/10 and 4/10

  1. I think you can find dragon fruit at specialty food markets. If you’ve found a reliable place to get your Asian & Filipino food/ingredients, that’d be the place. Other than that, it just might not be in season…? Idk. I’ve never actually had it myself.

    • I didn’t try looking for it, but it looks like an interesting fruit. Since I’ve never had it, I might go and hunt for it, and actually make the drink correctly πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

