Game of Thrones Mixing: 5/10

got3

Well, as I write this post, it dawned on me that we are at the half way point of the season. This means that there are only five episodes left! Why is it going by so fast!? Here is a drink that you can enjoy with your mom this weekend, it has coffee 🙂

jonsnow

Episode 5: The Night’s Watch Cocktail

This episode had a few things going on, and really, there were a lot of characters and places to chose from. Also, I thought Cersei was, “nice”, in this episode, well as nice as she can get. I decided on the Night’s Watch cocktail for this episode. Not sure if it was the feminist in me, but I thought they did the most good, by burning down Craster’s Keep and the mutineer’s. There was a lot of wrong going on in that place and it needed to be burned down. I also like the fact that Jon Snow allowed the remaining women to decided their fate, stay outside of the wall or to come with the Night’s Watch.

crasters keep

This cocktail is a Black Forest rendition, which if very fitting to the Night’s watch: black and predominantly coffee. However, I did an overhaul with this drink because I had one major issue: not enough alcohol content. Also, I did not have Benedictine on hand so I substituted with B&B. B&B is a less sweeter version. The recipe that I started with can be found here.

The first time I made this, I hated it. As previously stated, too much coffee and not enough liquor. Here is my weird version that I liked:

20140510-091015.jpg

2.5oz coffee, brewed and chilled(I used Heartbreak Coffee)

0.5oz dark rum

1/4oz B&B

1/4oz Maraschino

1/4oz Franjelico

Place all materials in a shaker, add ice, shake, strain into a flute, and ENJOY!

20140510-091245.jpg

 

*Game of Thrones images from google.com*

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Game of Thrones Mixing: 5/10

    • : Try it with a cold brew. That’s what I had planned on using instead of chilled coffee. I bet it will make tasty difference. Let me know how it comes out! 🙂

Leave a Reply

