Week 37: Finally, Friday!!

20140524-115347.jpg

Happy Memorial Weekend! I hope everyone enjoy their long weekend with friends and family. Currently wishing I was back home. This week was pretty busy for us, I didn’t get a chance to post anything on the blog. I will have to make up for it this week.

*Also, I am currently attempting to re-design the blog on my own, therefore, until I have achieved a desired design, you might notice a few cosmetic changes. This should not interfere with any of the posts, but in the oft chance that it does, I apologize in advance for the inconvenience.*

Highlights:

Jaelan “graduated” from 6th grade this week. She received the Presidential Academic Award for the second year in a row, so she was very happy. Only a few students receive the award, so we are very proud of her. It capped off a pretty good week for her. She also did well at her end of the year talent show, see video below(excuse the video quality, iphone 4 and distance does not bode well for this task). We will have to work on stage presence and posture. She still gets as stiff as a stick when she gets in front of an audience.

A friend asked Xavier to fill in for a league flag football game this past weekend and he had a blast. It’s been a while, but he did pretty well, he had 3 touchdowns! He might have to become a regular. While he played, we also got to catch a cricket game at the park, and that is one interesting sport. I know nothing about it, but I love sports, so I might have to read up on it and at least learn how they score.

20140524-115445.jpg

The big girls’ last week of school was this week, and they officially left us for grandma’s yesterday 😦 I miss them already 😦 But I know that they will have a great time with family down in Texas this summer. We took a long drive to Tulsa to meet up with Mimi, and I got a chance to check out Chimera, before we headed back home, because you know, coffee.

20140524-115332.jpg

Aspen:

Aspen has been telling me that she is excited to be going to Mimi’s house all week. I told her I was going to miss her, see her response in our conversation below.

Also, ever since she asked us to read her this book called, My Blankie, she has been infatuated with various blankets and scarves, and won’t go anywhere without one, as evidenced by the photos above. Photo on the left, with a blanket at Jaelan’s talent show and her, “no pictures!!” face. The photo on the right, with a scarf at Jaelan’s 6th grade ceremony.

20140524-125024.jpg

Oh, and she is trying to learn how to tie her shoe laces. She shows great initiative, in a hard headed, I want to do it myself, and hold up everyone’s time, kind of way, when she wants to accomplish something. I know this will be a great quality in the distant future. I mean look at that fierce face of concentration!

Me: Aspen, do you want to stay here with daddy and I?

Aspen: I am very excited to go to Mimi’s house. But, I will miss you, Mama.

Me: So, you don’t want to stay her with me? Well, I am going to miss you a lot.

Aspen: I am going to miss you too, I said, but I want to go to Mimi’s. I am ready to go to Mimi’s now, Mama.

Week 37 Gallery:

20140524-115308.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Week 37: Finally, Friday!!

  1. Paris says:

    Yay, Jaelan! Yes, get her to loosen up a bit! Haha. Find more opportunities for her to sing; perhaps at whatever church y’all go to up there?

    • Thanks! Good question! The whole blog actually started when we moved from Houston to KC as a way for us to update family back home on how we are doing, since we had never lived away from family and since the girls are the only grand kids on both sides, family missed them a lot. It evolved into a weekly update, meant to be posted on Fridays, but life happens, so I am happy if I can get them up on the weekend πŸ™‚ You should start one when you guys move to Brazil. Weekly updates can get hard though, maybe I will switch to bi-weekly or monthly, but right now it also helps me to make sure I have at least one post every week πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

