Football is Back!!

20140908-235107.jpg

How excited are you that football season is back!? I know, EXCITED!!! The NFL season started this past weekend and not without drama, and also, Week 2 of college football.

I was fairly satisfied with the Texans play on Week 1 against the Redskins. Of course, I haven’t seen the whole game yet, because, you know, Kansas City. But, I did see lots of highlights and read up on the stats.

Here are my takeaways from Week 1 for my Houston Texans:

1. I was really interested on the quarterback play, because all of them looked bad in preseason, and I am happy with the way Fitzpatrick looked on paper: NO INT. Before Week 1, the only thing I like about him was his beard. Just kidding.

2. Hopkins and Andre looks solid on paper.

3. The defense was great, especially on paper. Robert Griffin III got destroyed a lot of times, it gave me flash backs of David Carr. JJ Watts, Brooks Reed, DJ Swearinger, and Joseph, all played pretty well, but more importantly: Redskins 6 points.

4. The down side, of course, was losing Jadeveon Clowney for 6 weeks with a torn meniscus. If the Texans win more than 2 games this season, I am a happy fan.

5.And lastly, I can’t believe that Bullock is still on the team, even if he did go 3/3.

Other notables, the Seahawks looks scary good. But, I need to see them play again before I pick them to win it all again. What I like about the NFL is that any team can surprise you, i.e the 2014 Kansas City Chiefs.

Now on to the drama: Ray Rice. I saw the video. And damn. If you haven’t seen it, I am not wasting web space by providing a link. As a mother of (3) daughters, as a sister to (2) sisters, and as a woman, that was pretty disturbing to see. The hit was bad enough, but the action afterwards was even more disturbing. I am not going to go into a tirade, as I am not here to judge anyone. But, I definitely would not want Ray Rice to wear a Texans jersey, if he were in Houston. Domestic violence is senseless and intolerable. Violence against women is unjustifiable and cowardice. That is all.

Extra: I’m glad that the University of Houston Cougars bounced back on Week 2, even if it was just against Grambling State. They play BYU next week, who destroyed the Longhorns this weekend. SIGH. Go COOOOOGS!!

 

One thought on “Football is Back!!

  1. Nunyourbuziness says:

    As a survivor domestic violence, there is no excuse ever for Ray’s actions, and the NFL is practically an enabler now for the treatment of Rice during is (only 2 game suspension). Indefinate suspension is now a corrective action.

Leave a Reply

